YeeBlog

November 15, 2006

Yak On: AIM for Blackberry

Filed under: Uncategorized — yeeguy @ 5:24 pm

One of the reasons I wanted to start a blog is to create a little more room for myself to spout off about stuff I like and don’t like. I’ve had this blog for a little while and I guess it’s about time to make my first such editorial post!

Drum roll, please.

YakOn

A Blackberry app I really like is called Yak On. It enables you to send instant messages on various networks like AIM, MSN, and ICQ. (It notably does NOT work with Yahoo Messenger or G-Talk, but I hardly ever use those networks anyway, so no biggie for me.) I tried out a bunch of other instant message clients for the Blackberry and I think Yak On has the easiest to use friend lists and tabbed conversations.

Yak On lets me log into AIM from my Blackberry and I can set IM alerts (vibrate/sound) from the Blackberry Profiles control panel. It’s a persistent app in the sense that you’ll stay logged in as long you don’t close the Yak On app.

Be warned, though, that AIM only lets you log in from one location at a time. So if you’re logged in on your Blackberry (say, while you’re on the train to work) and then get to the office and log in from your computer, then you’ll kick off a set of dueling alerts on both Blackberry and your PC until you log out of AIM from either one or the other.

In any case, I highly recommend Yak On for anyone who’s been looking for an AIM/MSN/ICQ instant message client for their Blackberry.

Check it out if you’re interested

Got other topics you want to hear me spout off about? Suggestions for other tech toys to try out and rate? Leave a comment and I’ll get back atchya.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

